Danger Zone


“So, because you are lukewarm–neither hot nor cold–I am about to spit you out of my mouth.”
(Revelations 3:16)

I must admit, I’ve lost sleep over this one lately as questions keep pouring through my cerebral cortex. What does lukewarm mean, anyway? Could I be rejected by my Creator for being too reserved, too comfortable? Do I blend into the background too easily? Is that being lukewarm?

You mean I can be cold OR hot and be accepted?

What’s hot enough? What’s cold?

I need to think about this. Read on it. Dwell on it until I’m comfortable with my conclusion as I’m sure the Holy Spirit is prompting me to do so.

I want my Savior to be proud of me.

I want the light of Christ to shine through me boiling hot or as cold as ice.

Which one is better? Is that enough?

What temperature am I supposed to be?

Okay. Deep breath. Let’s think about this analogy John uses. Water. More specifically, lukewarm water.

Not much happens in lukewarm water. No surprises. Pretty predictable. You can drink it and wash with it if you had to. It can be useful, but forgettable. It’s usually not preferred. Stagnant comes to mind. If water had a comfort level, I’m assuming lukewarm would be its comfort zone.

Then there’s hot or cold. Melting or freezing. Steaming or chilling. There’s no mistaking its temperature and the uses for each are endless. Both can be dangerous if not handled properly. Both can be quite uncomfortable.

And then there’s me. Just me. One simple drop in the sea of humanity.

Me. Trying to reflect Christ in all I do. Trying to make a difference for His kingdom. Trying to live in this world but not of it. Trying to get to the end of this race and hear “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

I had better be freezing cold or boiling hot if I want to impact those around me for God’s glory. This sea we’re living in is vast. The water’s deep. And I’m but a single drop. I need to be one or the other to make any difference whatsoever.

I don’t want to become mouthwash.

If lukewarm is a comfort zone, I want to be uncomfortable. Comfort zones are overrated, anyway. We can become lazy in them if not careful. So I say comfort schmomfort. Let’s bring it! Let’s live in the danger zone. For in doing that, we’ll realize it’s not so dangerous after all.

Let’s hold nothing back, for here and now is the only chance we’re guaranteed to have. Let’s live for Him like we mean it. Will you join me?

How about you? What do you think lukewarm is and how can we avoid it? I’d love to hear and possibly talk about how to apply this more in another post.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

This post is linked up to Thought-Provoking Thursday

8 thoughts on “Danger Zone

  1. I can totally relate to this. Yes- I don’t want to be lukewarm and I wonder what this looks like. Am I too comfortable? Even striving to have a deeper relationship am I missing a part of the picture? I think continuing to explore the topic is very important, never being satisfied … if that even makes sense.I guess what I’m also thinking is be ready for conflict. People like to be comfortable and can avoid that which is unpleasant. Love your blog, it’s beautiful!

    and I love your twitter handle- I relate to it! 🙂

    • Thanks for dropping by, Heidi! And thank you so much for taking the time to comment. This topic is heavy on my heart and I’m so thankful you’re willing to go there with me — to the uncomfortable. 🙂

  2. I have to agree, lukewarm is a comfort zone, too content with the way things are to not press on for more, not reaching upward for the calling of Christ Jesus. Great Thought Provoking post!

  3. You are right. Luke warm doesn’t do much. It is comfortable. He never asked us to be comfortable, but to follow Him.

    May we be all that we are for Him!

    Blessings and thanks for linking up!

    • Oh, Stacey, thank you so much for dropping by! It was a blessing to link up finally. blogging is out of my comfort zone let alone linking up, but as you know–He’s never asked me to be comfortable. . .

      Here’s to reaching higher!
      To God be the glory,
      Nikki

  4. Pingback: This Little Light is Mine to Shine « simplystriving

  5. Pingback: Conforming No More « simplystriving

I can't wait to hear from you...

