Heart of Thanksgiving

Ah, November. Autumn in full motion. Nature’s cycle ending, slowing down to rest.

It’s my favorite time of year. Where I’m from, autumn bursts forth with all my favorite colors and temperatures fall just enough to clothe myself in my favorite attire: sweaters and jeans.

November. The month where my country sets aside one day to give thanks. One day out of 365 where it’s socially acceptable to take off work to spend with those you love and give thanks.

Last week during my devotional time, I read the book of Colossians. As you know, Paul’s letter was written to the recently saved church of Colassae. He knew they were going through a time of turmoil due to some inaccurate teachings. They were in a season of doubt and Paul wanted to help them get through it. Those 4 chapters are completely saturated with simple instructions on how to live your life to the fullest. His words are concise and his directions for having a fulfilled life in Christ are simple and obtainable to all of us.

I couldn’t help but wonder what advice I would have given if I had been in Paul’s shoes. What do you say to a young Christian who is going through a season of doubt? What actions are necessary to obtain a fulfilled life in Christ? I must admit, my initial thoughts missed the mark entirely.

Do you know what instruction Paul repeats most in that letter? By my count, he mentions it six times in four chapters. He repeats it more than anything else I found. Paul’s advice?

Have a heart of thanksgiving. 

“May you be made strong with all the strength that comes from His glorious power, and may you be prepared to endure everything with patience, while joyfully giving thanks to the Father…” (Col 1:11)

“And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in the one body. And be thankful.” (Col 3:15)

“And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.” (Col 3:17)

“Devote yourselves to prayer, keeping alert in it with thanksgiving.” (Col 4:2)

Six times he mentions it — to give thanks. To be thankful. To pray thanks.

I get the feeling we need to do it more than the month of November.

I’ve read it takes at least 21 days to form a habit. That’s about how many days we have left in November. Why not take this time to train our hearts to become hearts of thanks.

Thanksgiving all year round. Now THAT’s joy!

In fact, let’s begin. I’m thankful for:

  • My Redeemer. Who’s made my life worth living.
  • My hubby. Who makes my job of being a stay-at-home mom possible. He’s more than I deserve. Love that hard-working man.
  • Autumn. The season to enjoy God’s exquisite color palette in divine temperatures.
  • You. For taking the time to read my thoughts of randomness. For sharing with me from your heart. For inspiring me daily to be better than I am.
How about you? What are you thankful for? I’d love to hear. 
Thanks for sharing your time with me.
~
Simply striving,
Nikki
2 thoughts on “Heart of Thanksgiving

    • Thanks for dropping in, Ali. Fall in MN is THE BEST! I trust life slows down enough for you to enjoy the rest of it. . . Praying those scans for Ian are perfectly clear in every way possible! To God be the glory.

I can't wait to hear from you...

