Christmas is Coming! {Bring Your Inner Child}

Christmas Ornament Collage ~ Simplystriving CC

He plunges into the tinsel bag eagerly. I catch my warning before it’s uttered and sigh in relief when his five-year-old hand retreats with only a few strands. And as he runs to the tree, I hear him humming his favorite Christmas Carol.

With precision, he hangs each silver strand just the way he wants it. His slippered feet patter on the hardwood as he asks his dad if he wants to come and lend a hand.

After much attention, we all step back and admire our handiwork. All six feet of it. The same tree I tried to replace years ago. The one my husband and I joke about — how it’s so fake it’s nearly real as I end up vacuuming up pine needles into spring.

And my boy, all four feet of him, he says it best:

“Mom, it’s the most beautiful tree I’ve ever seen!”

I look again and see the ornaments he’s been making since preschool. I see the carpenter’s nail hung right in front as a reminder. And as I glance over and see my husband and I’s 14 year history together all hung in one place, I couldn’t agree more.

It is the most beautiful tree I’d ever laid eyes on. Thank you, child, for helping me see.

I’m not sure when our perspective changes. When we get too tall to truly see the glory displayed right in front of us…

This year, I’m striving to bend low. I’m approaching the manger on my knees as I reflect on the miraculous beauty that was gifted to me thousands of years ago. And as I contemplate the significance of a lofty manger, a smelly stable, an un-sanitized birthing room, I’ll step back and say:

“Father, it’s the most beautiful display of love I’ve ever seen!”

Friends, do you see it? Will you join me here down low, look up with me and proclaim His splendor? How will you celebrate the Reason of the Season this week? I’d love to hear.

And in true Music Monday fashion, I invite you to join me and my five-year old as we sing his favorite Christmas song:

Christmas is Coming

by Jason Gray

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

3 thoughts on “Christmas is Coming! {Bring Your Inner Child}

  1. Oh yes my friend. There is beauty to behold. Thank you for sharing this morning. And the song put an extra pep in my step to accomplish much today. Merry Christmas!

  2. Dear sweet Nikki, thanks for taking the time to share this week. How busy you must be this Christmas. How happy and joyous your household as you celebrate the miracle of a new life in your family. How blessed you are to have such wonderful sons of your own. And yet there is One so much greater than all of that rolled together, and you stop and pause to write for us about Him and His marvelous love. I stand in awe of you, dear friend! Merry Christmas to all of you!

  3. I’m praying that God shrinks me down this year. Not just physically, but spiritually. I want to be eye level with The Glory that is always surrounding me with His Beautiful light and love. Love and hugs to you in this new year, my friend.

I can't wait to hear from you...

