Who Am I? {Can’t Get Over Him}

Held by Christianity

It can become a mundane chore. An everyday task we do out of…obligation? respect? tradition? Maybe all of the above.

Regardless, we walk the road of life wearing “Christian” on our lapel.

The part that worries me the most: It can become so embedded in our culture we lose the significance. We forget how it first came to be.

Friends, He chose us first.
(John 15:16)

All we choose is to walk to those arms spread wide as He says, “Come.”
(Matthew 11:28)

It’s not a birthright. It’s a commitment.

And then there’s the doer in me. My controlling nature kicks in to where it becomes a task. A duty as I serve those around me. As if any sacrifice I make allows me one step closer to completing my goal.

My to-do list of glory.

I forget. It’s not a competition or a service. It’s a relationship.

I’m not competing for glory. I’m fighting for His.

Simply for the love of Him.

If I’m not careful, I’ll miss the mark completely. I’ll lose my way if I think I can win by simply acting justly, loving mercy, walking humbly…
(Micah 6:8)

Because He’s not after what I can do. He’s after what we can be. Together.

I don’t need to prove myself, He’s done it for me.

Here’s what gets me right in the gut:
He doesn’t want to call me servant. He wants to call me friend…
(John 15:15)

And that’s something I can’t get over. In fact, I’m going to have to talk about it more…have you help me sort it out.

But right now, as I stand in wonder of what He’s done for me. Of what He asks of me. Of those arms spread wide, offering a safe place of rest, this song comes to mind.

Because it’s true. I can’t get over Jesus and this scandalous love affair He offers. 

Can’t Get Over You

Anthem Lights

Subscribers, CLICK HERE to listen in to this amazing song on YouTube
Or HERE on Simplystriving.

I love the way You love like no other
It’s got nothing to do with anything that I do
Time and time again You forgive me
So this time I choose to stay here with You
Hold me
Pull me just a little bit closer
I don’t wanna lose this moment
Your love has covered me
And now I can’t get over You
Here in the arms of my Father
Only grace can be found
So I lay my fears down
Nothing is the same anymore
You’ve changed me from the inside out
Now my heart is beating and it’s singing won’t You…
Hold me…
I can’t get over the way
Your love stays the same, oh Lord
I can’t get over the way
Your love stays the same, oh Lord
Even through the good and the bad times
You stay the same
So my song will remain
Lord…
There’s nothing I can’t do
I just can’t get over You

How about you, friend? Servant…friend…lover…which do you associate with most while contemplating your own Christianity? Are you Jesus’ friend? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

15 thoughts on “Who Am I? {Can’t Get Over Him}

  1. This is just like me as well. I am a doer and I enjoy having ‘tasks’ to complete in all aspects of my life, including my walk with God. I am constantly having to stop, relax, and start over reminding myself that it is His Glory and He has already chosen me.

    • Someday, I’ll tell you about the season I tried to forego my to-do lists to get this lesson down. (it didn’t help)…God made us this way for a reason, Alyssa. I believe that. Oh, but the lessons we learn as we try to hand those lists to Him…. Thanks for sharing with me today, friend!

  2. I’m a doer too. I so often focus on what I can do and not on what He’s already done. Such beautiful gospel truth here today. And this, “I don’t need to prove myself, He’s done it for me.” Thanks, Nikki! And thanks for visiting today. I’ve been slow in reading blogs this summer myself. Time flies by when you are having fun:)

  3. How I love you, sweet friend! How I treasure your heart that just goes straight on after His, bringing us along and stirring us up to run right alongside with you!

    I think we can’t get over how Grace makes it easy… it just doesn’t feel like it should be… but that is the beauty of Grace – we can’t earn it. It cost Him everything to just hand it over to us with open scarred hands and a whole and holy pierced heart!

    Friend… Lover… Brother… King… it’s for all of those roles that He fills, that I serve Him… and others!

    Beautiful!
    ~K~

    • I bet that’s it, friend. Grace makes it easy and it just shouldn’t be….this upside down Kingdom makes me whirl in wonder! ;) Thanks for reading, friend, and encouraging me to keep pursuing HIm {HUGS}

  4. Dear Nikki
    This is a daily battle, my friend, this struggle to deny ourselves from the one moment to the next and learning to live in Jesus alone!! No selfish flesh allowed. But it does get easier with time and practice!
    Love to you XX
    Mia

  5. Good thoughts, Nikki! It is by HIS grace that we are saved. We realize that we need a savoir, we ask HIM into our hearts. we are in HIM, and HIs Spirit is in us. From this point on, in our walk with HIM, we recieve more than we give. The greater our desire grows , to please HIM, and to serve HIM. This is what should happen in any true love relationship. The transition from savoir-friend to savoir-master, is never complete. As we put forth the effort,to grow in our relationship with JESUS, we need to hear what HE says to us, and we need to talk to HIM about our feelings, our thoughts, our other relationships, and so on. When HE says go, we should go. When HE says rest, we need to rest. HE is totally awesome!

  6. Beautifully written, beautifully felt. Nikki, God has given you the gift of writing and sharing His love for us, and even though I don’t manage to read every post, the ones I do always fill me up as if He has just taken the time to refresh my soul. Thank you, dear sister!

    PS: I’m working on a Music Monday piece — I haven’t forgotten!

I can't wait to hear from you...

