Saved the Same

My accent is Fargo-like. My skin burns easily. I grew up in a town that, until recently, did not have a stoplight. There were 76 in my public school graduating class. I grew up on hotdishes, said pop instead of soda, and do not have a good taste palette for seafood.

If I had to guess, I would say we couldn’t be more different. And yet we’re the same.

For we are all uniquely His.
Saved by the same Savior.
Loved by the same Father.
On the same journey home.

I’ve never had so much as a speeding ticket. I don’t ever remember being late for work. A cigarette has never touched my lips.

Yet none of that matters. Because I’ve failed repeatedly. Ashamedness is no stranger to me. I’ve broken commandments. And I need to ask of forgiveness frequently.

You see, sin is not ranked. You and I, we’ve sinned the same. We’re both in need of this grace He gives so undeservingly.

Friend, His grace is indiscriminate. None of us deserve it. No, not one. He loves me as much as He loves you.

He died for both of us. And He would do it again.

Technology intimidates me. I don’t consider shopping fun. And I would rather stay home and read a great book than go to the movies.

My guess is, we couldn’t be more different. And yet we’re the same.

We’ve sinned the same.
We’re loved the same.
We’re saved the same.
And we’re both on the same journey home.

My guess is, we would get along splendidly.

We believe that we are all saved the same way,
by the undeserved grace of the Lord Jesus.
Acts 15:11 NLT

Thank you for sharing your time with me. Me, this sinner saved the same.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking with:

18 thoughts on “Saved the Same

  1. smiles…we each have our uniqueness but you def bottom line it well…there is no ranking of sin…and none of us is without it…but also not without a savior…smiles.

  2. Nikki, I smiled as I read this. No matter what our backgrounds, we’re all equally lost — and then equally LOVED! — by Christ. Amen, sister.

  3. I’m so glad that because of Jesus, we are sisters and friends:) I can’t imagine no traffic lights, calling soda pop or not liking seafood:) I’m originalky from DC where we drank soda and ate blue crabs and were encircled by the beltway:) Blessings, friend

    • I’m so thrilled you saw where I was going, Cherry. Yes. it wipes away any need for self-righteousness. pride. ranking. comparing. We are all in need of Him. And He’s crazy about the both of us. Thanks for stopping by today!

  4. so pleased to read this. I often judge, and feel judged by others– the cycle seems continuous, but Jesus — he stepped in and interrupted us and leveled the field and looked us each in the eye and gave us forgiveness. Unearned but oh, so needed.

    • Thank you, Alyssa. He’s the one thing we all need, isn’t He. Our common denominator. Michael Yaconelli wrote “Sameness is the result of sin…that flattens the human race.” Makes me want to celebrate all of our unique characteristics as we all look to Him to complete us.

  5. You said this beautifully Nikki. And differences within the body, I have had to make peace with that because of the number of places I haved lived where I felt like a missionary in a tribe not my own. We all have the same intrinisic need for the love of a Saviour, His forgiveness and redemption. We just wear it differently.

    • Oh, yes. I had wanted to go there, Shelly, and talk more about our differences within the body, but couldn’t get the words to come. I’m reading “Messy Spirituality” and in it he writes “Accepting the reality of our broken, flawed lives is the beginning of spirituality. Not because the spiritual life will remove our flaws, but because we let go of seeking perfection and instead, seek God. The One who is present in the tangledness of our lives.”
      that resonates so well with me. and gives me something to think on… just had to share.

        • Funny story to this one. When I was reading Manning’s “All is Grace” he mentioned his friend, Michael Yaconelli a few times in it. I was looking through my hubby’s bookshelf the other day and lo and behold was this book, “Messy Spirituality” by none other than Michael Yaconelli! I simply had to read it. and I haven’t been able to put it down. It’s very thought provoking.

  6. You are correct, God does not rate sins. Sin is sin is sin… I want to be holy as he is holy, yet I do what I wish I wouldn’t and don’t what I wish I would… I would like to visit Fargo one day.

    • Oh that silly human condition…causing the should’ve, could’ve, would’ve of our lives…
      So grateful for indiscriminate, all encompassing grace!
      I don’t live far, and yet I’ve only been to Fargo maybe twice! Still, the accent runs deep…
      So thrilled you stopped by today–thank you!

I can't wait to hear from you...

