My Life Song

Sleep visited late and I was looking forward to missing the first morning’s chorus outside my window. My son had other plans as he woke with the robins and practiced his whisper excitedly in my ear. “Tickle, tickle, tickle!”

This was my moment. Sure it came by surprise. No, it didn’t tickle. Yes, it wasn’t what I had planned. And still it was here. Staring me in my sleep-starched face. This was my moment to choose. Will my actions play harmony to the tune set before me? The melody master-crafted by my Heavenly Father, or will it ring flat? Will I drown out the tune with my sharp overtones?

I blink hard, repeatedly, trying to force function. Finally I’m able to focus on my firstborn’s face. His big blue eyes dance with joy as he tries to send me into giggles. I scoop him up and pull him in close, hoping for a few extra moments to decide what key I will sing in today.

His freshly cut hair brushes my nose softly, making me want to wriggle free, and I can’t help but oblige. “You got me, bud. That did tickle!” My fingers instinctively return the favor.

And the birds join along in the chorus. Sweet harmony abounds.

Then there was today.

The stage mirrored the one before. The cast encored. And yet I sang flat. Out of key, off rhythm. I found myself in desperate need of take two. Please tell me that’s happened to you, too.

Immediately, I realized the cause. Why I opted for the off-tune, easier melody. I had neglected my thanks yesterday as I was too wrapped up with what I have quickly forgotten.

But thanks to the promise of new mercies, I can still claim today. Today, after pleading with the cast for forgiveness, I chose the melody of joy. Tomorrow, I think I’ll choose the harmony of praise. And will save the sonnet of delight for the encore. For this is my life song. And I get to choose how it will sound.

Counting my thanks this Thanksliving Thursday:

  • Persian cucumbers
  • Angora socks
  • Clear blue skies
  • He’s alive!
  • Sleep-filled nights
  • Migraine dissipating
  • Vehicles can be repaired
  • Mechanics
  • The lessons in Jonah (it will have to be another post)
  • Successful surgeries
  • The power of prayer
  • I don’t have to know all the details. Just need to know the One who does.

How about you? What song are you singing today? What are you thankful for? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Linking up with Allume as my favorite post for the month.

Also linking up with:


22 thoughts on “My Life Song

  1. Thankful for you, your first born and gift of writing :) Also thankful to work from home and that my first born is feeling better!

  2. Ahh, too often I choose the notes if discord rather than the notes of harmony. Beautiful picture my friend…how true that we need to choose the song we sing each moment.

    • I have to keep reminding myself it’s a choice, Lauren. Not simply the result of my circumstances! I’m striving ; ) thanks for sharing with me today, friend! Will be stopping by soon…

  3. Failing to give thanks always makes me sing out of tune. I can relate to that early morning moment when you have to make that decision. Thanks for sharing! Loved your list! Jonah is one of my favorite books–so gospel saturated. Can’t wait to read that post:)

    • thank you, friend. Love seeing your smiling avatar :)
      Persian cucumbers are newer to me, too! I have a picture of them on my facebook page if you want to see them. they’re basically mini cucumbers without the seeds and super sweet/crunchy. So good!

  4. I love this! I love how you share the reality of waking and needing to be ready to greet these precious gifts… whether we are ready or not! But so humbly you share your strength and your weakness for us mamas to be able to say, “I am not the only one. Whew!”

    It helps me get through another day, counting the beautiful blessings that God has graciously bestowed :)

    Thank you for this and sweet blessings to you, friend :)

  5. Me, too…singing those flat notes when I forget to give thanks…giving thanks with you for your sweet boy and how God always lets us choose to give thanks and how that makes such a difference in the song we sing…love your heart, Nikki :)

    • The loving hearts? It’s a mutual thing, Dolly as my heart is always warmed with yours :) Thank you. What a hidden blessing it is–the tune we sing is up to us. I’m picking a wonderful one today and trust you are, too! Hugs to you, friend.:)

  6. i have definitlely needed a “take two” many times in parenting…and apologized to my kids and asked for it.

    I truly love your writing style.

    I have never heard of Persian cucumbers, but I am going to look them up!

    • Oh, I’m on my 2nd pack of persian cucumbers (I get them at Trader Joe’s). They’re real sweet and crunchy, mini cucumbers I guess is how I would describe them. Hope you find some to try! They’re my new fav!

    • I love that you clicked on mine, Kim, at allume when chances are you had read it already :) And thanks for making me feel more normal as I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve been interrupted in reading and forgot to go back! What a fun link up — i’m going to enjoy it! (and see what you decided to link up, too!)

I can't wait to hear from you...

