Thankful Surrender

But giving thanks is a sacrifice that truly honors me.
      If you keep to my path,
      I will reveal to you the salvation of God.
Psalm 50:23 NLT

I stumbled upon this verse while reading through my Bible in 90 days this week. It was the word ‘sacrifice’ that caught my eye.  Maybe because the Chapter used it twice.

Make thankfulness your sacrifice to God,
      and keep the vows you made to the Most High.
Psalm 50:14 NLT

Giving thanks has become a discipline for me. One I strive to do every day and write down in efforts of holding myself accountable. And I have to admit, it’s hard for me to view it as a sacrifice.

But I see it now.

A sacrifice by definition is an offering of surrender. And when we give thanks to God Almighty, we are doing just that.

We’re acknowledging the gift He gave us through that act.
We’re admitting we couldn’t have done that without Him.
We’re humbling ourselves before Him in praise, offering ourselves so He can lavish us with His love in complete surrender.

“To name a thing is to manifest the meaning and value God gave it.”
Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts pg 54

I get the feeling this is the sacrifice God wants most from us. It’s one of the few in the Bible that’s mentioned in both the Old and New Testament.

And to celebrate Thanksliving, I share some of the ways I did just that this last week. Brief moments I bent low before my King and said “Thank You, Father. What would I do without You.” Most of them probably don’t seem all that wonderful to you. Oh, if only you could have been there with me. To see how the gift was wrapped special just for me…

  • Stir Crazy popcorn (if you know what this is, we could become fast friends)
  • Finding 7 year-old jeans that now fit me! (I’ll try to just wear them around the house ::SMILE::)
  • The lesson I was taught while reading Job 36 & 37: Don’t get caught up in the details. Just praise!
  • My 3 year-old out of the blue at the breakfast table: “Mom, I want you to know something. If you kiss me, I’ll always kiss you back. Okay?”
  • My husband working so hard for us this week
  • Every good thing I have comes from God (Psalm 16:2)
  • A reader so generously emailing me to give me a heads up on an error on my part — I love those.
  • God lights up our darkness (Psalm 18:28)
  • The simple joy of blowing bubbles
  • First Robin spotting — signs of spring
  • God knows every bird (Psalm 50:11)
  • Record high temps and the family time to enjoy them while flying kites
  • Even when God does not answer, He is still holy. (Psalm 22:1-3)
  • A back deck to retreat to
  • Receiving vitamin D naturally
  • I can call God a close friend (Psalm 55:13)

How about you? What sacrifice can you make today? What are you thankful for? I’d love to hear.

Thanks for sharing your time with me.

Simply striving,

Nikki

Am linking to:

28 thoughts on “Thankful Surrender

  1. Hey girl! Good morning :)

    I’m learning that sacrifice is not a bad thing, it’s a discipline thing, and that it can be a very good thing! It’s all in how you view it :)

    • And what a beautiful morning it is! :)
      So true, Aurie. Sacrifice is a growing thing and perspective is everything! I’ll be striving to keep my focus upwards :)
      Hugs to you!

  2. So sweet what your boy said to you :) Praying about if there is anything He currently wants me to do that I am not… yes, always good to give thanks…hugs to you, Nikki :)

  3. I’m learning about sacrificing my own dreams in order to cling to God’s! And I’m eternally grateful for the little nieces that are visiting, playing with a tea set and talking a mile a minute. :)

    • Oh, that is a tough sacrifice to learn! I am striving to cling to His ideals over my own as well.
      And how fun to have joyous bundles of chatter surrounding you! Enjoy the tea time! :) So thrilled you shared. Thank you so much for blessing me today!

    • Oh, I think I know which Psalm you are referring to! And that makes sense… This one is one of the few Asaph wrote. Maybe another reason it caught me off guard–his writing style is a bit different than David’s…
      Thank you for reaching out and sharing with me, Kay!

  4. What your little boy said just made me smile! How completely precious! No wonder the Lord said we need to be like little children to enter the kingdom of God! :-) Your lists are always so beautiful, heartfelt and inspirational! Thank you for sharing them!

    • It sure is, Alyssa. Sometimes I think it has to bless me more than it does Him. Isn’t that just the way God makes things…always thinking of our needs? It is so true. God is ALWAYS good. And we are always loved. . .

    • Thank you, Jenilee! And you know what–it’s an unheard of 80 degrees today and I found a pair of capris that are at least 7 years old that fit! yay! so fun to see progress ;)
      Thrilled you stopped by today–thank you!
      All for Him,
      Nikki

  5. What a beautiful way to look at it! i know that I love reading everyone’s lists each week and seeing how God is at work in their lives–it just makes me feel so much closer to God knowing how I am just one speck in this big world and He doesn’t forget me…or you…or anyone who links up and I am sure he isn’t forgetting anyone. How incredible!

    I have to find out what StirCrazy popcorn is because I am a popcorn fanatic!

    Also–wow! 7 year old jeans that fit!! Awesome!!

    I love our back deck, too. My husband and I spent some time chatting back there today!

  6. What a PERFECT verse for this journey we are on. I think the sacrifice also comes when we set our agenda aside and take time to be quiet and see. Our culture seems to be busy, busy, busy. Or is it that we are so unwilling to give Him thanks…..hmmmm….very interesting, I’m going to be thinking about this verse all day. Have a wonderful day sister. And, I’m dying to know what ‘stir crazy popcorn’ is!

    • Thanks for stopping by — I so enjoyed my visit to your blog! StirCrazy popcorn isn’t as big of a deal as I made it sound I’m afraid. It’s just the appliance I use to make my favorite snack :) They’re available at Target if you’d like to see one. Ours sure gets good use!
      and I think you’re right. about setting our agenda aside. dying to self is certainly the hardest sacrifice to make. One I strive for every day…
      So blessed by you today. Thank you!

I can't wait to hear from you...

